Prompt: An extra room has magically been added to your home overnight. The catch: if you add more than three items to it, it disappears. How do you use it?

The room sits quiet, but with an energy that is welcoming, open and inviting. Even from the door you can feel its essence pulling at your soul, beckoning you to enter and partake of its reverence.  Glass lines one of the pale yellow walls of the third story allowing for a panoramic view of rolling hills, wheat fields and a cloud littered sky. As one of my items, books line two of the walls from floor to ceiling. Some with worn and tattered covers, others with pristine bindings; each with a memory of the story inside.  In one corner facing the windows sits my second item, an over-sized leather love seat, angled perfectly to take in the view of life being lived below. It too shows slight signs of wear having been used as a place to meditate, read, laugh and plan. On this couch I have cried, mourned, loved and learned and like a favorite blanket it envelopes me each time I sit on it.  My final item would be my laptop so that I can write. My thoughts, my dreams and my hopes at my fingertips, typed and sometimes shared but always there just below the surface, choosing words to portray their intent.

 

Breathing Room/Daily Prompt

